Storyline automatically closes after in-slide preview

Ever since the most recent update, previewing the project in the editor causes the file to close. This only seems to occur when I preview twice w/o making changes between the previews. 

When the timeline completes, the program behaves as though I closed the window or pressed ALT + F4:

  • If there are no unsaved changes, the project will close.
  • If there are unsaved changes, I'll get the message asking if I want to save. If I click Yes or No, the project will close. If I click Cancel, I can resume editing as normal.

It does not appear to be related to a specific project. It happens even with new, unedited file. You can see a screencap video of the issue attached and here: Preview closes project

18 Replies
Lauren Connelly

Hello Vibeke!

Thank you for taking the time to share that you're running into this issue too! I'm sorry this is affecting several projects. I've linked your comments to our bug report so that we can update you when we have news on a fix.

If you'd like us to take a look at a specific project, please don't hesitate to contact us directly in a support case.

Chet Poulton

I'm having this same issue as described above. If the Storyline file has not been saved and I press the spacebar to pause a preview, it brings up a dialog box asking if I want to save before quitting. If it is saved, pressing the spacebar closes Storyline. This is also sporadic, meaning that it does not happen every the time. I'm running version 3.53.25436.0. on Windows 10 Pro.

There are no triggers that use the spacebar for anything throughout the entire course file. This is also happening in multiple Storyline files. It is not related to just one file.

Any help you can provide would be much appreciated!

Becca Levan

Hello Chet & Barb!

Sorry to hear you're both experiencing this issue, and it sounds similar to an issue that's been reported to my team:

Storyline 360 Build 3.53.25436.0: when using the spacebar to play/pause in the timeline preview, Storyline asks you to save your project and eventually closes when you choose to Save or Don't Save.

Barb, are you running this version of Storyline?

From here, I'd recommend connecting with one of our support engineers directly so they can confirm the exact cause of this behavior. I'm so sorry if this is slowing you both down!

Kate Kromer

Adding my two cents here since the updates of two months ago did nothing to correct this for me... I'm working in a fully updated version of Storyline and this is continuing to happen. It's (quite) annoying since the play and pause features (and use of the spacebar) within the timeline is obviously the most common way to manipulate animations and timing when you're building a course. Just yesterday, I was distracted while working quickly and mistakenly closed a file that I didn't mean to close. And, even though I have Storyline set to save my work every minute, this prompt will override the autosave and won't capture any of the changes made during the working session. Can someone from Articulate explain the rationale for this? And why isn't the repair working for all 360 users?

Soren J Birch

Oh dear. What good is the auto save feature then if it doesn't autosave in a predictable way? 

But there are way too many old niggles with Storyline right now that has been lingering for years without any change in sight. It is as if we only get features that can be made into USPs on a powerpoint slide right now. So many Quality-of-Life fixes that this software could really benefit from if it was prioritized. Actually auto saving Auto save is one!

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Kate,

Thanks for sharing that you're still having an issue. 

I'm working in a fully updated version of Storyline and this is continuing to happen.

Can you share what version of Storyline you're using? 

  • You can check by going to Help > About Articulate Storyline

Even though I have Storyline set to save my work every minute, this prompt will override the autosave and won't capture any of the changes made during the working session. Can someone from Articulate explain the rationale for this?

The AutoRecovery setting in Storyline 360 is not an auto-save feature. Here are the details:

Storyline will automatically save a copy of your project at the specified interval (after you’ve saved it at least once). The default interval is every 10 minutes, but you can enter any whole number between 1 and 120. If Storyline closes unexpectedly, you’ll be prompted to recover your project the next time you open it.

Storyline 360: Setting Storyline Options

There may still be a working version of your project in your temp files. Here's how to check:

  1. Open this folder in Windows Explorer: %appdata%\Articulate\Storyline
  2. Scan the contents of this folder for a file that starts with the name of your project. If you find one, copy it to your desktop. If you find more than one, copy the latest version to your desktop.
  3. Change the file extension of the copy on your desktop from *.tmp to *.story.
  4. Double-click the file to open it in Storyline.

Why isn't the repair working for all 360 users?

I'd like you to share your project file with our support engineers to investigate what's happening with your permission. You can share it privately by uploading it here. It will be deleted when troubleshooting is complete.

Kate Kromer

Thanks for the reply, Leslie. 

I am working in v3.56.26145.0.

And, yes, I understand how the auto-recovery feature works and am grateful for it in most instances. Unfortunately, since the spacebar prompt issue is different (i.e. not the result of an unexpected crash or file shutting down) - since I clicked "ok" without recognizing what the message was asking, it doesn't really apply here.

I did try to find the file in my temp files folder but alas keep getting the "This process is locked/You don't have access to this" message. (I'm paraphrasing the message, but I'm sure you recognize the one.) 

I have rebuilt my file with the lost work and of course, the material is proprietary and highly regulated so I'm not able to share it. If this happens again, I'll save my file and sanitize the proprietary info so your support team can have a look.

Thanks again for the reply.