Storyline 360 : Reporting each quiz question to the LMS

Apr 27, 2017

Hello,

I'm new to Storyline 360 (was a Captivate user) and was wondering if it's possible to track each question (like with an individual identifier) in our LMS ?

My course has 3 questions and a Results slide with its trigger to report to the LMS. 

Am I missing something? For example, in Captivate, each question had its own Interaction ID, and the course had its own SCO.

With the interaction ID, I could easily see in our LMS which question was missed the most.

Thanks!

Julie

19 Replies
Alyssa Gomez

Hi there Julie!

What SCORM specification did you publish for? To send question text to your LMS, publish for SCORM 2004 or Tin Can API (also called Experience API or xAPI).

Also, here is a list of the data that Storyline sends to your Learning Management System.  Once that data is compiled in the LMS database, there's really no limit to what kind of analysis you can perform (assuming the LMS grants access to the data)!  

Let me know if you have other questions. 🙂

Julie Frappier

Hi Ashley,

Not sure if I should have started a new threat, but here's what I was aiming for:

I’m moving into Storyline some content I had previously design in Captivate. Our LMS is only SCORM 1.2 compliant, so we can’t publish the content using SCORM 2004.

That being said, the interaction data reported by Captivate includes the question and answer in the CMI.Interaction variables while Storyline, sadly, is very limited in that aspect.

When, or if,  will you include that functionality in Storyline 360?

Thanks!

Julie

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Julie,

Answer text is sent in SCORM 1.2 and 2004.

The interactions.id element that is in SCORM 1.2 wasn't written to allow question text to be sent to the LMS, although it's possible that an authoring tool could be modifying the interactions.id to make it more descriptive.