Fill in the blank knowledge check

Sep 28, 2018

Hi There

I'm new to using rise. Is it possible to use the fill in the blank knowledge check question as more of a reflection activity for the learner where there is no right or wrong answer? Is there a way to change the settings so that the learner cannot get it wrong as it's their own reflection? Or is there another tool I could use for this purpose?

Thanks

Jess

38 Replies
Christine Hounsham

Hi Jess, I just logged-on the search for this exact same query. 

Let's hope someone has a suggestion - I'm thinking possibly removing this incorrect/correct word/symbol using the navigator panel, or as a fall back mirroring the look and feel of the Fill in the Blank template in a SL slide and embedding it that way.  

Will let you know if I find anything. 

Cheers Christine

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Jess and Christine,

You'll find a similar question from Kelsi here, and my colleague Crystal shared some great ideas on how to create a similar interaction to provide opportunities for reflection without establishing a right or a wrong approach.

I know a few other folks have asked for a survey style question, where learners could enter in a bit of free-form text that isn't graded. If that's also something you'd like to see I can add this discussion to that request we're tracking! 

Jessica Skinns

Hi Ashley

Thanks for your reply. I'll have a look at the ideas from your colleague. 

A survey style question is definitely something I'd like to see. Particularly if the free-form text is saved somehow, not for grading but so the learner can come back and reflect on their answer / edit and add to it.

Is there a way of being notified if this survey style question becomes available?

Thanks

Jess.

Christine Hounsham

Hi Jess and Ashley, 

Sorry it's taken me a few days to come back on this one.