Challenges with making PowerPoint Conversions into WCAG 2.0 Compliant Storyline 360 eLearns

Oct 29, 2021

Hello there Heroes,

I am relatively new to Storyline 360 but have produced some basic eLearns for clients. Any help with the below would be greatly appreciated

When I convert a pretty basic PowerPoint (mainly text, headings and logos), into the Storyline 360 environment, I seem to be having some issues with establishing the accessibility functions in the Storyline 360 converted file. So much so, I am thinking about starting the build from scratch and ignoring the conversion efficiencies.

I have watched videos and been able to turn the functions on etc, but the following is happening

1) When establishing Screen Reader order under Focus Order , the Focus Order Dialogue Box

a. has some line items that appear to be superfluous “off slide” and "on slide" artefacts, possibly “conversion formatting artefacts” that may have been created during the conversion from pptx?  These what appear to be rogue artefacts, often hold pre-populated text within the ALT Text panel.

The problem being, this prepopulated ALT Text is:
• often nonsensical text that you would not want a screen reader to read
• non-deletable, nor editable

It is worth noting:
On the exact same page / Focus Order dialogue box, I can delete and edit the ALT Text of true images etc. (so the function is operational etc.)
I cannot select these strange “artefacts” when the Focus Order Dialogue Box is open, nor once the Focus Order Dialogue Box is closed , in fact once closed, they are not visible. (As such I cannot right click on them and turn off their “accessibility function”)

b. As for the above point a, at times the “conversion formatting artefacts” ALT Text box is empty.

c. Generally speaking:
• how do screen readers manage blank ALT Text boxes shown in the Focus Order Dialogue Box.