Embedding Rise output/link into Canvas LMS

Mar 01, 2017

Hello, I am new to Rise and Canvas and before progressing with the course build I need to know if these programs are compatible. Apparently Canvas is not SCORM or AICC compliant. I would prefer to have quiz results recorded in the LMS. Is this achievable? Thanks

54 Replies
Justin Grenier

Hello Janet, and welcome to E-Learning Heroes!

You can export Rise courses for AICC, SCORM 1.2, and SCORM 2004 4th Edition learning management systems. Just open your Rise course for editing, click Export in the upper right corner of the screen, and choose an LMS specification.

A quick Google search turns up this document in the Canvas knowledge base, stating that Canvas also supports SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 4th Edition.  The same document explains how to import SCORM files as an assignment in Canvas.

Please let us know how it goes!

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

HI Michelle,

What browser were you using to author the Rise course, and to view it in Canvas? Did you see any error messages when uploading the course? Were you following the same steps that Justin linked to above?

If you want to share your Rise export, I can try uploading it to SCORM Cloud as well. A good way to test any LMS course. 

Hi James, 

It's not an LMS I see mentioned here a lot, but if you haven't yet, take a look at the trial of Articulate 360 here!  You can export Rise content for LMS and choose SCORM, AICC or Tin Can API and then upload to Canvas to give it a test.

If you need anything else let us know! 

Errol Muir

Thanks for all this info.To bring together, 

I finally worked out how to take an Articulate Rise SCORM Module into Canvas as a link, rather than as an assignment. Here is the process I followed.