Escape Room with 360 Images

Nov 08, 2022

I'm a storyline newbie, but usually pick up pretty quickly using new software.  I'm trying to create an escape room using 360 images where the hotspots take you to other slides AND some hotspots don't appear until other hotspots or markers are clicked.  I know shapes would be better for what I'm looking to do, but it seems you can't add shapes, states, and triggers to a 360 image.  You can add some triggers, but none of them make sense for what I'm trying to achieve.

It looks like hotspots in a 360 image can only have text, but can trigger to do very elementary things like next slide.  However, I can't have, for example, an "exit" hotspot pop up on a door in the 360 image once the learner finds all of the clues.  The "exit" hotspot has to exist there the entire time.  I obviously don't want them to be able to escape before they've cracked all the codes.  

1. How do I not allow hotspots and markers to not pop-up as clickable on the 360 image until other things have been explored/clicked first?

2. Since the hotspots don't have states, how can I have a hotspot link to another slide and when they return to the 360 image from that slide, they begin at the clue they left off on, not begin again?  For example, clue #3 might be a hotspot that links to another slide that has a screenshot of a document.  Once they've interacted, they are sent back to the 360 image and the only hotspot or marker (usually hotspot) is clue #4.  

Basically, I have this entire thing built out already but can't figure out how to get the 360 images to cooperate.  Unfortunately, I can't post the example as it has proprietary information.

4 Replies
Eric Santos

Hi Alex,

Welcome to E-Learning Heroes! I'm glad you're exploring the 360° images feature in Storyline 360!