CSS editing

May 02, 2019

Hello, hopefully not a vague (but perhaps a broad) question. On these forums I've seen people using the words CSS and editing for Rise modules. What does this mean? Any good plain English guides for me to read for further understanding. Yep, I'm a noob, but curious :-) 

Robert

13 Replies
Ned Whiteley

Hi Robert,

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheets, which, in simple terms, provide the formatting (or style) of the components on your web pages. If, for example, you look at the html file of a web page you may see large sections of text with headings and sub-headings that all appear to be in the same size font and all in black. However, when you look at the actual web page, the headings may be twice the size of the main text, bright blue and bold. This is achieved through defining the size, colour and weight of the font in the CSS file.

CSS will also determine the size and placement of images, the width of the text on your page, whether the page scales automatically for different size screens etc etc. There are a large number of formatting possibilities within CSS and the best way for you to gain an understanding of what it can achieve would be to jump on google and have a look. In a way, it's a bit like using styles in a Word document. Once you have defined the style, you can use it as often as you want simply by selecting the text and applying the style to it. CSS, however, does much, much more.

When people talk about editing CSS files for Rise, it could be because they want to change the appearance of the opening screen, for example and they want to know if it is possible to do so.

As a simple example:

CSS

h1{
font-size: 30px;
font-weight: bold;
color: blue;
text-align: left;
}

html

<h1>
This Is Heading 1
</h1>

End Result

Hope this helps.

Zsolt Olah

Robert,