Adding Hyperlinks to a course in Rise

Apr 25, 2019

Hi - I'm just starting out with Rise and I'm creating a course that has links to various external websites for extra help on the topic.

Can I do this in Rise or do I need to create the page in Storyline and then add it to the course?

Thanks Vicky

16 Replies
Ned Whiteley

Hi Vicky,

Within Rise you have the ability to link to external web sites or other lessons within your course either through a Button block or a Button Stack block:

You can also create a link to an external web site from within a Text block by highlighting the relevant text, right clicking and then selecting the Insert Link option:

Adam Keld

Hi 

I completed a new on boarding course using rise, i have placed links within the course to our website and intranet. i have trialed this on our LMS, the problem is when the link takes me to the site I can not just close the window and continue with my course unlike when i trialed it in preview. Am I missing a trick?, help please.

Alyssa Gomez

Hi Adam!

It sounds like the hyperlink opens in a new tab while previewing in Rise, but it open in the same window when hosted on your LMS -- is that right?

RIse does not control how hyperlinks are opened, but here are a couple of things you can try:

• Generally, the web browser will control if hyperlinks open in the same window or in a new tab, so be sure you're testing in the same web browser in both scenarios.
  • Your LMS may also have a feature to allow you more control over hyperlinks, so reach out to your LMS admin to find out if you have that option.
Coaching  Edge UK

Hi Alyssa,

Just reading through the above trail and have a related question. I want to add links to external examples of sport on Youtube or occasionally to external websites.