Rise creating long file names

Jul 12, 2022

Hello, 

When I export the rise file, rise 360 creates long names under the scormcontent > assets. Is there a way to control the number of characters? My LMS says there is an error in the filepath due to the number of characters. 

Thank you

22 Replies
Steve Warren

Yes, this is a real problem if the files are saved in nested folders.
So we're looking at the (descriptive) names of folders, sub folders, etc contributing to the 255-character limit.

Here's what I get for a video file.
My file name is:
     MMTLSG-M1-L4-RISE.mp4
Rise exports it as:
      W6irVzOxRsD2WB94_transcoded-_6qpIfsO-Pk4-0e3-MMTLSG-M1-L4-RISE.mp4

Surely all the extra isn't necessary???

Paul Schneider

Ah yes file name seems to indicate that the mP4 uploaded was processed (transcoded) and thus the GUID and extra file name is expected I would believe. I'm no Articulate expert, but I would suspect there isn't much you can do unless you can tell Rise to not transcode the video - otherwise probably need to get your LMS vendor to accept longer file names or use another tool to create courses (or don't use videos in your Rise courses). Hopefully someone else has another idea.

Steve Warren

Thanks - but I wonder just how I'd ever "tell Rise "to do anything.
I have a few ideas for making it a better product but judging from the response that people get, and that problems go unresolved for years ... why waste time suggesting them?
Others (more capable than me) have suggested the same.
And overall, it's a very good product :)

Transcoding is a process that compresses videos for streaming.
But Rise's transcoded files are literally twice the size of my own (I use Handbrake - hardly rocket science...)
So I replace the video files anyway after I've unzipped the download - but can't lose this pointess extension of the file name.
This creates problems on my own PC, so it's not just a matter for my LMS.