Uploading Rise File to SharePoint

Feb 28, 2017

Hey All! I am looking to export a Rise File and upload it to a SharePoint site. Has anyone attempted this?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Cara

35 Replies
Sharon English

Hi Cara,

We use SharePoint (2007) at work and like you, I have a need to embed both interactions from Engage and courses from Rise directly into the Sharepoint performance platforms I've created. For Rise courses I've been doing it via a content editor web part (inserting a thumbnail that is hyperlinked to the Rise share URL). For Engage interactions, I publish to either Articulate Online or to the Articulate 360 and add that URL as a hyperlink. I've included a screen grab.

I've used the content editor web parts to embed video directly (not needing the thumbnail) via the source editor but I've not tried that for my Articulate courses. It just came to me as I was typing this so I'll try and let you know.

I'm by no means a SharePoint expert, so I'd love to hear from others.

Justin Grenier

Hey, Cara!

Here's a quick Peek (recorded for another customer) at how to upload a Rise course to a web server.  Understanding that your situation is a little different, here are a few things we've learned about SharePoint over the years:

• SharePoint Online (the Microsoft Office 365 Hosted Edition) won't play HTML files. As a result, SharePoint Online can't host published Rise content, which includes HTML files.
  • You should be able to upload Rise content to a SharePoint Server you host, and you'll want to check with your SharePoint administrator for instructions on how to host HTML content. Depending on your version of SharePoint, you may need to switch to explorer view before uploading content, or you may need to check in content after uploading it. Your administrator will know for sure.
  • If you need to track learners' progress and results, publish your Rise content for LMS and use SharePoint's free Learning Kit.