Articulate 360 Teams can easily collaborate on Rise 360 courses. Create and edit different lessons in a course at the same time or take turns fine-tuning the same lesson. 

Collaborative authoring is exclusively available to Articulate 360 Teams. Not a teams subscriber? Contact an Articulate 360 Teams specialist to learn more.

Tip: You can also send a copy of a Rise 360 course to another Articulate 360 user. However, each of you will have an independent copy of the course, which is useful when you’re working with an individual Articulate 360 subscriber. It’s not real-time collaboration as described in this user guide. 

Add Collaborators to a Course

You can add as many collaborators as you want to a Rise 360 course as long as they have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription. Collaborators don't have to be on the same team; they just need to have an Articulate 360 Teams subscription. 

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard and open the course on which you want to collaborate.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Share and choose View collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Enter an email address for each team member who should have access to the course and click Invite.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor. 

Each team member you invite will receive an email notification, and the course will automatically appear on his or her Rise 360 dashboard in the Shared with me folder (as well as the All Courses container). Collaborators will also see the owner's avatar on the course tile.

Change a Collaborator’s Role

Collaborators can have one of three roles for a course:

  • The Course Owner can do everything.
  • A Course Manager can do everything except edit labels, transfer ownership, and delete the course. When a course manager publishes a course to Review 360, it's published to the course owner's account rather than the course manager's account. 
  • Course Collaborator can edit the course but doesn’t have access to Settings, Share, Review, or Export.

By default, collaborators are assigned the course collaborator role. You can update their role at any time.

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard and open the course on which you’re collaborating.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Share and choose View collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Modify a collaborator’s role from the drop-down menu in their list entry.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.

Course Managers and course collaborators can remove themselves as collaborators.

Collaborate on a Course with Other Authors

Everyone on your team who has access to a Rise 360 course can work on it simultaneously. Changes appear immediately. Here’s how each feature works with collaborators.

Edit the Title, Description, and Author

Only one author at a time can edit the course title and description. When someone else is editing either field, it’ll turn gray and you’ll see the author’s profile picture or initials beside it.

Anyone can change the author that displays in the published course. Just click the Author drop-down list and choose one of the collaborators or hide the author altogether.

Add New Section Headers and Lessons

All collaborators can add new section headers and lessons to the course outline.

Edit Section Headers

Only one author at a time can edit an existing section header. When someone else is editing it, it’ll turn gray and you’ll see the author’s profile picture or initials beside it.

Edit Lessons

You can edit any existing lesson in the course unless someone else is currently working on it, in which case you’ll see his or her profile picture or initials and when the last edit occurred beside the lesson in the course outline.

If you click the Edit Content button for a lesson that another author is currently editing, you’ll have the option to take control of the lesson. We recommend contacting the other author, as a courtesy, before taking control of a lesson, since taking control will lock him or her out of the lesson.

Delete Section Headers and Lessons

All collaborators can delete section headers and lessons unless they’re currently being edited by other authors.

Rearrange Section Headers and Lessons

All collaborators can rearrange section headers and lessons in the course outline—even when they’re being edited by other authors.

Preview the Course

All collaborators can preview the course.

Share, Review, and Export the Course

Only the course owner or a course manager can share the course with learners, publish it to Review 360 to collect feedback from stakeholders, and export it for hosting in an LMS or web server.

Share the Review 360 Course with Non-Articulate Users

Only the course owner can allow a course published to Review 360 to be shared with users that don't have Articulate IDs.

Change Course Settings

Only the course owner or a course manager can change the course settings, including theme, navigation mode, and collaborators.

Edit Text Labels

Only the course owner can edit its text labels.

Send, Duplicate, and Move the Course

Only the course owner or a course manager can send, duplicate, and move the course.

Delete and Restore the Course

Only the course owner can delete or restore the course.

Here’s how to transfer ownership to another author.

Remove Collaborators from a Course

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard and open the course you need to edit.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Share and choose View collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Hover over each team member you want to remove from the course, click the X that appears, then click Remove to confirm your choice.
  4. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.

When you remove collaborators, the course will disappear from their Rise 360 dashboards. If they’re editing the course when you remove their access, they’ll immediately return to their Rise 360 dashboards.

Remove Yourself from a Course

Course managers and course collaborators can remove themselves from a course.

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard.
  2. Hover over the course you want to remove yourself from and click the menu icon that appears.
  3. Click Remove from the menu and confirm your choice.

Course owners can’t remove themselves from a course, they must transfer ownership first (see below).

Transfer a Course to a Different Course Owner

Only the course owner of a course can transfer ownership to another author. Here’s how:

  1. Go to your Rise 360 dashboard and open the course you want to transfer.
  2. Click Settings in the upper right corner of the editor and select the Collaborators tab. (You can also click Share and choose View collaborators to get to the same screen.)
  3. Hover over your name in the list of collaborators and click the Transfer link that appears.
  4. Select a collaborator to be the new owner and click the Transfer button. (If the new course owner isn't already in your collaborators list, you'll need to add him or her first. See above.)
  5. Click Close in the upper right corner to return to the course editor.