Enable Next Button After Visit to Each Layer Storyline360

Sep 02, 2020

Hi Friends - Quick Storyline 360 rookie question, but for the life of me can't figure this out.

I need to ensure that my learners visit both of the layers that I've added to my slide before being allowed to advance (using Next button). I begin by disabling the Next button when the timeline starts. I also have a "Return" button on each of my layers to bring them back to the base layer. Using button visited triggers on the base layer works fine (re-enables the Next button). However, if my learner clicks the return button on my layer to come back to the base layer, the Next button disables again. I take it there is no "layer visited" condition I can employ, so do need to use some kind of variable? Seems like a lot of work for so simple a task - then again I'm a rookie!

Thanks all!

Ashley Green (though our corporate account says Rich Chapman)

5 Replies
Nancy Woinoski

You need to create a true/false variable and add a couple of triggers to your base slide to make this work as follows:

1. Click the Manage project variables button in the trigger panel {x} and add a true/false variable with the default value set to false.

2. Add a trigger to your base layer to adjust the value of the variable to true when the state of the buttons is visited. 

3. Add a trigger to change the state of the next button to normal when the state of the buttons is visited (you probably already have this one set up based on your description).

4. Modify your trigger that changes the state of the next button to disabled when the timeline starts to add a condition.

the condition is if the variable is set to false.

That should do it and I agree with you that this should be easier. 

Rich Chapman