Layers & Triggers

Apr 11, 2014

I am very new to storyline, I have only been working in it for a couple days, I created my first project but can not get my triggers to work.  Any help would be great!

3 Replies
Nancy Woinoski

Hi Shelley, I took a look at your story file and have not gone through the entire thing but I assume one issue you are having is with the triggers on the slides that have layers. 

The first issue is that you have all of the triggers on the base layer - If you take a look at slide 1.5 for example, you will see that you have 3 triggers on the base layer that say to show layer when the user clicks the next button. Storyline reads the triggers from top to bottom so it is going to read "Show layer "Proven scalability" when the user clicks the next button first.  When the user clicks the next button, Storyline will execute this command and jump to the Proven scalability layer and never read the other triggers.

The second issue is that you are trying to use the Next button to move from layer to layer. The Next button was not really designed to move from layer to layer. It operates at the base layer level and was designed to move from screen to screen so what you are trying to do is sort of a kludge. So even if you move the triggers to your layers - for example, you move "show layer Easy Migration" to the Proven Scalability layer - it still won't work because the Next button is operating at the base level.