Publishing without Flash

Jul 23, 2016

I have a client that does not install Flash on their desktop or laptop PCs. Is there a way I can publish Storyline content so that it will automatically play using HTML5 instead of Flash on desktop and laptop PCs?

7 Replies
Gary Bartanus

I'm very new to Storyline and could be way out to lunch, but I've been testing it by simply using the story_html5.html file in my link instead of the story.html file.  It seems to work without causing any major problems, but, again, I could be very wrong about this.  (Hopefully, an expert will chime in to share some insight.)

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Lou!

You cannot publish the content without Flash.

Articulate Storyline lets you publish courses for Flash, HTML5, and the Articulate Mobile Player app. To distribute your published content, upload it to your web server or LMS, then link to the story.html file in the published output. Here’s how Storyline determines which version of your content to display when learners view it.

As Gary mentioned as well, some simply share the story_html5.html file as well.

INK STUDIO

You can try physically deleting all the files with .swf extension and also delete story.html and index.html and rename story_html5.html to story.html and index_html5.html to index.html. By and large it will work to a certain level. However, I have encountered 2 key issues when testing:

1. Audio will not  play - which I suspect the swf player is used as the default audio player. 

2. The Print Results button does not work - i.e. click and nothing happens

With the impending move by major browsers to stop support flash soon, I think it should be about time Articulate revisit this and address the concerns. I recall seeing similar discussion here more than 2 years ago and to date seems like no progress has been made. 

So far I have resorted to using Lectora Publisher 12 and 16 to meet this need. Someone has also recommended me to look at iSpring, which I may do so soon.