Randomizing Drag and Drop Items - HELP!!! (I'm new to Storyline 360)

Mar 08, 2024

This seems like a simple feature so I'm sure i'm just missing a setting somewhere. But I created a very simple drag and drop card sort exercise. To explain it simply:

• There is a drop area A and drop area B.
  • There's a stack of cards with words on them (ie 'dog').
  • Each card is a button as I made a card so when you click it the down state is a picture of a dog. 
  • Each card is on it's own layer of course.
  • Each card is a Drag Item and belongs to either Drop Area 'A' or 'B'.
  • I have all the cards centered (horizontally and vertically) so it creates a stack.
  • I have the Drag and Drop Options setting to 'Reveal Drag Items One at a Time'

I won't explain all my other little settings but If I publish my little exercise everything works as I would like it to, except the cards aren't randomized, they show up in the order that the layers are. 

I know there is a setting for setting the Drag Items Sequence... but I don't want to  hard set that. I want it to randomize the cards. I set "Shuffle:" to "Answers" but that doesn't seem to do anything. 

I can't imagine there isn't something very simple i'm missing here. Please help a newbie :)

7 Replies
Walt Hamilton

First, be sure you need to randomize. Pedgogically, randomizing is useful only if learners are repeatedly taking the quiz, or if they might be in a position to share answers with each other. Otherwise, for each distinct person, the cards are essentially in a random (unpredictable) order.

The Shuffle Answers option only effects items that are on the base layer. Of course, if you take the items off the layers, and put them in a stack on the base, then reveal items one at a time and shuffle items options will function as intended.

Christian Seeber

Thank you Walt! Yes I hear you and completely agree, in this case, this is an exercise for kids and they will be repeatedly taking this so it does need to be random.