9 Replies
Christine Hendrickson

Hi Ryan,

So sorry to hear this happened. If the actual project's .STORY file was deleted, you cannot recover the project from the output files. If you have an IT department they may be able to help recover deleted files, but it really depends on your system. In the future, it may be a good idea to create a backup of your .STORY files, just to be safe. 

I wish I had better news, Ryan. 

Ryan Frasch

I suspected as much Christine.  I did check with our IT, and they only backup the network drives.  I usually store everything on our network drive, but I copied it locally to publish it.  Well, I thought I copied it, but I just cut it...then deleted it when I thought I was done.

At least I have the output audio I can still use (don't have to re-record) and I can still view the output file to get it back to where it was.  It'll take a little work, but not a total loss.

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Primie,

I'm very sorry to hear about your file. Unfortunately, Storyline does not currently include an auto save or auto recovery feature, so if you hadn't saved your .story file in a bit and Storyline crashed or was closed down, the file is lost. It's been a popular feature request to include an auto save/recovery within the next version of Storyline so you're welcome to share your thoughts on that here as well.

To prevent future issues while working in Storyline, you'll want to follow the guidelines detailed here and ensure you meet the minimum system requirements detailed here. Also, I'd recommend closing down other programs or applications that aren't necessary while working in Storyline to free up more memory.

John Blum

One thing I found that helps to prevent Storyline crashing, freezing up, or losing files, is to frequently check Task Manager for how much memory is "free". When it gets below 1MB, it's time to reboot the computer because that's the only way I know of that frees up memory, especially when you've closed down other programs and "free" memory still is low. For some reason, shutting down Storyline and restarting it does not free up that much memory. Anyone know how to free up memory without rebooting?

I submitted a new feature request to have Storyline perform automatic backup saves, but in the meantime saving frequently is a habit we need to have when using Storyline.

Vojto Bellus

Ryan Frasch said:

I accidentally deleted the .story file, but I have the output files. Is there a way to import back into storyline, or am I out of luck.

Help!


Hi Ryan, if you deleted this file, you used only "Delete" key or Shift + Delete? Rechecked you the basket icon on Desktop? Maybe I'm stupid but this option has saved me several times.

Vojto

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Kelly,

If you created a file in SL2 or upgraded a file to SL2, that file will no longer open in SL1. When you go through the process of upgrading a file from SL1 to SL2 though, we create a back up copy so that you can always revert to the original in SL1 - it's typically called "My file name - SL1Backup.story" You'll be able to use that one to continue working in SL1 - but any changes or modifications you made while in SL2 won't appear.