Text Entry Trigger

Feb 24, 2021

Hello,

I am trying to make a simulation of a program in Storyline 360. I have recorded my screen and there is one slide that I want to add a spot to add a text entry to move on to the next step. I am having trouble figuring out where to put the text and how to set up this trigger - I am very new to Storyline!

I attached the word document of my project - in slides 2.3-2.4 is where I am trying to figure out where to put the text block in, Thank you for any help!

7 Replies
Maria Costa-Stienstra

Hello, Shelbey!

Thank you for sharing your .story file - what a fantastic use of Storyline for training!

This Peek 360 recording covers one of many ways to achieve what you’re looking to do. Here’s a quick recap:

• Your variable that records the text entry (Variable2) has a default value. To let learners type text, let’s remove that value and leave it blank.
  • Since you’re using a text-entry question, we’ll need to tell Storyline the acceptable answers. Simply go to Form View to enter those. (In my example, I added "Big," "Big Star," and "Big Star Honda.")
  • Another approach is to increase the number of attempts allowed to at least two. This will trigger the Try Again layer on the first incorrect response, giving learners a second chance.
  • I also added a hotspot to the search button so that it triggers the submission.

Lastly, I’ve attached the edited file in case you’d like to explore the changes. 

Let me know if you have any questions. I’m happy to help!

Advantage Parts