Accessibility Testing for Rise courses

Feb 17, 2021

Hi there, 

I'm trying to get a handle on accessibility testing for Rise courses. I installed NVDA screen reader and am trying to through through a Rise course a colleague made. A few things I noticed:

1. It seems really sporadic what it reads. The first time i had the course loaded (it's still in Review360), it read all the text top to bottom. Since then I can't get it to do that again. It'll read some headings, some buttons, the text on the banner image, but not just the whole page top to bottom. I'm still learning and I don't know if this is a function of the screen reader or if the Rise course is causing this.
  2.  In IE, the screen reader reads the listed items on the course outline like this: "Align left three vertical lines aligned to the left - "chapter title" - 0% complete, a circle with a coloured border representing one's progress through a lesson". Each line is read like this. Is there a setting where the user can choose to have each icon talked out like this or not?
  3. On the other hand, in Chrome, it seems to only read what you mouse over. That seems counter intuitive since if a person uses a screen reader to help with any kind of vision challenges, wouldn't it be reasonable to assume a mouse isn't being used to point at an element on the screen? 
  4. Headings are sometimes read twice for no apparent reason. 
  5. Every time I try to have the screen reader read the first page (the course description), it does it differently. Sometimes it reads only bits and pieces and sometimes it reads everything including icon descriptions, sometimes it reads font formatting but sometimes it doesn't. This is without changing settings at all.