Rise in the Classroom

Oct 02, 2022

I'm a middle school teacher using Rise 360 in the classroom. It is a bit of a "paradigm" shift to take the ID tool from corporate training to a classroom setting. 

Using Rise allows me to post materials for the students beyond the classroom doors. I have been finding ways to use Rise as an interactive book. 

I am not a great graphic design guy (and I think that failing shows). And, I am newer at developing my ID skills in the course structure. 

What do you think? Improvements? Criticisms? 

https://rise.articulate.com/share/FvxROsoI4_JO_1t34KEKygz-vD-oKLX1

https://rise.articulate.com/share/eca-jDowqJehXuUS5uSoLEAI73rarg4y

3 Replies
Phil Mayor

I went through one and they look good, if I was being picky this is what I think it needs:

1. Take the zoom off all of the images unless it is needed
  2. There are places where you have text in images and some even look like hyperlinks, take these out
  3. Some of the images look poor quality
  4. In some sections it looks like you are missing, what I mean is that the bit you would talk too the content is not there
  5. The places where we do have text some of the instructional or contextual info appears to not be there
  6. Finally, you have a lot of coloured blocks that don't add anything to it, the worst place is the questions with the white dividers in-between, if you want colour go with a light grey

But just me being picky this looks good.

Mark Herrell

Kelley - Thanks for the encouragement. 

It is interesting to compare the style to the "corporate" training; Is this software really middle school appropriate? My students have given a 75/25 like/dislike (maybe 80/20). Some say, "too fancy," while others enjoy the easy access audio narration & quick knowledge checks along the way. Some enjoy the image w hotspots for added info & hyperlinks to additional info. I question whether it becomes cognitively cluttered.