Best practice for navigation?

Oct 21, 2014

Hi! I'm new to storyline, and in doubt how to implement navigation between my slides most efficiently.

• Due to design requirements I can't use the "prev/next" buttons in the player.
  • I can create navigation buttons on the individual slides, but that seems impractical when having many slides, requiring me to copy/paste/edit a lot.
  • If I create buttons on the master slides, I have trouble using triggers and accessing objects on the slides itself.

I'm sure this is a newbie question that has been answered somewhere, but I haven't found any smart solution yet.. Any hints?

4 Replies
Steve Flowers

Hi Bjarne, 

I'm assuming that you're using Storyline 2, correct? You can communicate between the base and master slide using a variable. See this thread for one example:

http://community.articulate.com/forums/p/57712/308737.aspx#308737

The secret is creating a set of numeric variables that you can use to fire trigger listeners. Something like:

• goMenu
  • goNext
  • goBack
  • deactivateNext
  • activateNext

Now your buttons on the master slide will add one to the appropriate variable. For example, your next button would add one to goNext.

Out on your base slide, you can use a trigger to pick up on this when the variable is changed. The example in the linked thread was developed in SL1. There was an ugly bug that would cause the event to chain and skip slides. That's why there is a condition and delay on the setup object. 

This is handy for bubbling events across barriers. You can use this method to communicate from the base slide to the master slide and vice versa.

Bjarne O

Thank you very much for your inspiring answers! With those, I was able to overcome several obstacles, but I'm still in doubt if I handle navigation efficiently..