Storyline vs. Studio

Aug 22, 2012

Hi there,

I am in the process of selecting a elearning tool for my company. I am having difficulty selecting between Articulate Storyline versus Studio. My requirements are to initally gather us Practice Management Resources that exist and package them up in an easy to access format on our website. The next step would be to create simple eLearning courses with a quiz. I am an instructional designer, not developer.

Questions:

1) Which tool would be a better fit for my needs - storyline or studio?

2) I find studio a little limiting since it does not compatible with ipads. When is Studio  '12 becoming avail?

http://www.articulate.com/products/storyline-studio.php

3) We don't currently have an LMS, so I am wondering if there would still be a way for me to track quiz completion and link to a certificate?

Thanks!

16 Replies
Matthew Graham

I honestly like Storyline a lot better.  While, Studio felt a little easier being inside of PPT, I feel like creating things in Storyline is limited to my imagination.  Plus, it's still easy.  I'd definitely, 100% vote for Storyline.

I've heard there are certificate modules, but you'd have to have an LMS to actually record or track grades.  You can always have them print something at the end if needed.  Honestly, if you're going to invest in Storyline and you want to use grades, I'd look into a free LMS like Moodle that's not overly complicated.  There are some great video courses on creating LMS courses on lynda.com.

Tom Dorsey

There are certain limitations with storyline that can impact you depending on your needs.

For example, you cannot truly lock out navigation.  This means a user can potentially skip to the end.

Also, there is no timer to be displayed. 

If you are not worried about these items, storyline is a great product.  Unfortunately these items are forcing me to wait on the next studio.

Tom

Daniel Brigham

Shaila:

Here's my short answer: