Tab ordering, Layers, and 508

Apr 23, 2020

I've been working with 508 for about 18 years now and just started using Storyline 360.  Mostly impressed with its capabilities, but am struggling with using layers and a screen reader (JAWS).  I have attached a real-world example of having buttons on top of an image of a form to fill out. I would have used hotspots, but they had no color or states.  Each button triggers the showing of a layer to read more info on the section of the form.  I set my custom tab order, but SL seems to be ignoring them.  In html, I would have set the focus on the layer so the screen reader could read the appropriate text, but that doesn't look possible.  I'm wide open for suggestions.

6 Replies
Bob O'Donnell

Couple of things.... First off, if you "Roil Back" your version of Storyline to the December 19 version you will find that your tab order works perfectly fine. Don't preview the file though - "Publish" your file to test it out. Preview (in this release) doesn't always show you how the screen actually works. Go figure....

For your hot buttons - you're missing the proper alt tags on the other states. Looks like you copied button 1 to create the other buttons. See attached screen capture.

In the Dec 19 version, hotspots were not accessible. We got around the issue by simply using Shapes and changing the transparency on the object. No outline, transparency set to 100%. Add your alt tag and trigger to each shape and you're good to go. (While working and testing, we leave the transparency at 90% so each spot is easy to pinpoint on the screen.)

Storyline continues to make a bunch of improvements but they keep missing the mark. For 508 development - the Dec 19 version still seems to work best for us as the tab order worked properly. At least for us anyway. Looking forward to the day they fix all the problems. Tab order still not working properly in the April 21st release.

Good luck!

bdane@humtech.com Dane