Using Quiz differently in Storyline 360

Aug 02, 2023

Hi brains trust!

I will try to explain this the best I can so bear with me. Overall, it's systems training and we want to 'test' proficiency/competency. There is no official assessment, scoring, grading.

1. Prior to learning content, a proficiency activity was created (essentially the learning content without prompts) in a quiz format

2. Quiz formatted to monitor the number of mistakes (yes, mistakes)made by user. Correct answers result to moving forward; incorrect answers/mistakes result to popup. Correct answers have no score; mistakes to 1 point.

3. What I would like to happen is:

After X number of mistakes (3-5 depending on complexity of activity), I would like the exercise to quit and jump straight into the learning content.

4. I don't want the learner to complete the activity, nor do they need to see the result page (hidden).

Is this even possible? I am not a programmer; I don't do scripting well but I can follow.

Thank you!

9 Replies
Joe Hauglie

It should be possible to do what you are describing. What you are wanting is to use the variable values on a Results slide to trigger whether or not the learner proceeds with the "pre-test" or goes directly into the content.

So I would try adding a Results slide but putting it in a non-viewed slide - perhaps set it up as a separate slide in a new scene, or create it as a lightbox but then do not call the lightbox to appear. Then set your triggers to direct the learner into the content once there is a score of "5" or whatever.

You could accomplish the same effect by instead treating the point total as it generally is. Set up your question bank to show a certain number of questions, and if the point total does not meet the threshold you set, then the learner is sent directly into the material.