Accessibility with Storyline

Nov 06, 2015

We have created Storyline content but need to have this accessible to students with learning disabilities.  Many of these students have dyslexia and use text-to-speech software such as the NaturalReader floating bar or the speech feature of the MAC.  I find that I am unable to select text, which is required for this software to work. 

Am I missing something in the publishing/creating of our content that would provide this capability?  How have others worked to make their Storyline content accessible to these screen readers?

12 Replies
Christie Pollick

Hi, Terry -- Thanks so much for your question! While I am not an expert on 508 Compliance, I wanted to share information on a few different threads that may be of assistance, including this General Info on Storyline and Section 508 Accessibility, as well as this eBook on 6 Best Practices for Designing Accessible E-Learning, and Accessibility and Storyline

And perhaps others who have experience using NaturalReader will be able to comment as well with their thoughts and advice! 

Terry Huttenlock

Christine,

Thank you for the links.  I had consulted those previously.  I am also aware of the capability of tabbing from one section to the next on a slide and see how that works.  But one can't select text in any of the sections. 

The image in the "Accessibility and Storyline" link has an image of what JAWS will read and that shows just the notes section. Is this capability limited to the notes section?  Is there anything additional I need to do to allow the text in other sections in the main slide to be read by a screen reader as is illustrated for JAWS?

Terry

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Terry,