Disabling the next button

Apr 20, 2016

I've read a few threads on this but don't understand.  Enclose a sample of the problem.  I simply want the next button to be hidden or disabled until the learner has visited all the layers in this slide - then I want it to reappear.

But what happens is that the next button appears on the last level visited (I get that) but not then when you go back to the base layer.  It's a mystery to me

Do I have to add conditions (which seems a bit complicated) or is it something to do with how I have set up the base layer.  And please could you show me what to do and explain why? 

I'd really appreciate some help with this.

11 Replies
Dave Cameron

Hi Mark, 

I’m no expert but I think the next buttons are being hidden because they are set to 'hidden' when the timeline starts. When the user clicks the ‘Return to FAQs’ button they return to the start of the timeline again and the button is hidden.

I’ve attached a solution where I added an all_visited variable. It’s set at 0 initially and changes to 1 when all the layers are visited.

Now that’s in place I’ve changed the trigger for hiding the next button when the timeline starts to only work on condition that all_visited is 0. I added another trigger to say if all_visited is 1, display the button when the timeline starts.

I’ve left the previous button alone so it still disappears when you return to the start. You could copy the triggers and change which button is hidden/displayed from within the triggers to see what’s happening.

Hope this helps, as I say I’m no expert but can get things to work! Hopefully someone will let us know if there’s a more simple solution. 

Dave 

Walt Hamilton

<rant> "Normal" design is for the reader to be faced with hundreds of words of text, or hours worth of video, then click NEXT and do it over again, in a very linear fashion. I can't count how many of those I've been subjected to. <rant off>