Layers on Slide Master

Dec 04, 2013

Is it possible to have layers and triggers on a slide master?  I have a slide master layout with multiple layers and hotspots as the triggers for each layer.  When I use this layout on a slide the hotspots aren't and triggers aren't active.  Is it because of the hotspots?  Can they not be used on slide master layouts?  I have to use hotspots because I'm using icons inside a circle as part of the navigation menu.  When I hover over each I want to the color of the circle and the name to change.  I don't want the icon to change color.  So states won't work because you can''t change the state of grouped objects.  

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

7 Replies
Andrew Probert

Thanks Jesse.  Yeah, it looks like the problem is when I select 'Hide Objects on Base Layer' under the Visibility options for each layer.  But I'm not exactly sure why that would have that affect.  When I created the new layers I duplicated the base layer so all of the objects on the base layer are on all the rest of the layers, including the hotspots.  So why would it be a problem to hide the base layer objects?

Kevin Thorn

Hi Andrew,

What you're wanting to do is possible. You can use states for this with a little trickery.

Create your circle button with the icon and preferred color. Once you have it created, edit the states and delete all the other states so only the Normal state remains. Next, create the other circle button with the same icon but a different color. Do the same by deleting all the other states leaving only the Normal state.

Now that you have two buttons that are essentially non-active and for the most part just graphic objects. For the purposes of this example, let's say Button 1 is Red and Button 2 is Green:

• Copy Button 2 as is
  • Edit States of Button 1
  • Add new Hover state to Button 1 (remember we deleted that state earlier)
  • Paste Button 2
  • Ensure both are at the 0,0 XY position.