Publishing issues

Jan 14, 2013

Hi, I'm having a problem with publishing, I've been using Storyline for a few months and everything has been working fine.  But not all of sudden when I try to publish, in only publishes the mobile, story_content and Temp folders along with a meta.xml file.  The publish screen goes through the process of publishing each slide and then goes back to the publish screen, it never goes all the way through.  Can anyone help? I already tried re-installing Storyline and I'm able to publish the same file using a different machine. I'm running Windows XP Professional through Parallels on a Mac.  Thanks

8 Replies
Christine Hendrickson

Hi Victor,

First thing I would want to check is the location of the project files. Are they all located on your local hard drive? If you're working off of a USB drive, network drive, or any other external source, you may run into some unexpected problems. If you haven't already, please try moving the files to your hard drive and see if they'll publish.

Here's some additional information:

If you are experiencing unexpected issues using Articulate software, here are some tips for managing your files which can help prevent issues.

1.  Work on your local drive (your C: drive). Working on a network drive or a USB drive can cause erratic behavior, including file corruption, loss of audio, and other unexpected behavior. 

2. You should also make sure the directory path to your project files and your published output is less than 260 characters (for example C:\Articulate).

3.  Avoid using special characters, accents or symbols in your file names.

Additional information regarding "Naming Files, Paths, and Namespaces" in Windows operating systems can be found in the following Microsoft article.

If you've checked and confirmed that the files are local, are you able to share your .story file here so I take a look and see if I experience the same thing?

Thanks!

Victor Peraza

Hi Christine,