Storyline 2 screen recording is black

Hello!

Currently using the "Storyline 2" 30-day trial to check it out. I tried to do some screen recording but no luck. It seems to record the mouse just fine, and in step-by-step even creates highlights, but unfortunately the entire background/screen is black. Tried recording browser, desktop, etc. Same result. didn't verify if audio is recording yet. But something is obviously not working for me. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

5 Replies
Cory Close

Thanks for the quick response. 

I am working locally. 

I uninstalled/re-installed. Still no luck. 

I am a Storyline 1 user, and have both installed. I used Storyline 1 to record a video of what I am seeing in Storyline 2. I've attached it to this post - but not sure it will work. If not, I'll upload it somewhere and provide a link.

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Cory,

Thanks for sharing the video here. Obviously you're able to record successfully within Storyline 1 - so it's something specific to Storyline 2 only. You mentioned uninstalling, but did you follow along with those repair steps? You'd need to go through all the steps in that article including the Microsoft .Net Framework information. 

If you've gone through all those steps, can you connect with our Support team so that we can take a deeper look into your system set up? 

Crystal Horn

Hi there, Heather.  It sounds like you're having some trouble with screen recordings in Storyline 2.  Tell me a little more:

I hope those suggestions get you moving forward.  If not, please touch base with our support team so we can dig deeper with you!