Ideas for VERY dry content

May 07, 2015

Hello - I'm very new to e-learning and the Articulate programs.  I've used Studio to build my first e-learning module, and just got Storyline.  I have now been tasked to create an e-learning module for a very dry subject with a lot of text about our company's financial process.  Any ideas of how to start?

29 Replies
Simon Blair

Hi Jen,

There's a lot of great content in the E-Learning Heroes community. I recommend searching for "boring" or "compliance" to find some ideas on how you can liven up dry topics.

I'd also recommend focusing your course on what people need to do. As much as possible, keep the background information outside the course or in bonus content.

Cheers,
Simon

Tristan Hunt

I'll second what Simon has recommended.

Something I have just done for a process was to break it down into the small steps, then create graphics to represent each step and put them into a flow diagram with numbers along side. The learner would then click on each number to find out what happens at this stage of the process.

If you don't have too many steps this can be useful to break a lot of content into manageable chunks.

Cheers

Mohammad  Hassam

I agree with Tristan and Simon, you need to analyze the content and then break it different topics. Make sure the each topic has some attraction in it or anything makes more engaging or interactive, for example, try using the graph and flow charts in it where each and every component of the graph will be self-explanatory. 

Concise content is the key in this course and do voiceover in it especially when you trying to explain graph and flow charts.

Color schemes play a vital role here because as I can understand the audience of yours will be those people who work in the finance department. Make sure you use selected colors. Check this out.

Hope it Helps!

MH

Michelle Leon