Video Editing Software

May 29, 2013

I am pretty new to the whole E-Learning community and so is my organization.  We are spearheading a new onine course for new managers (this will be one of our first online courses).  We want to include some videos of employees describing some things and I was wondering if it is better to do it ourselves or hire a production company. We would prefer to do it ourselves, but I am not sure what software is available and how easy it is to use. I am pretty computer savy, but I don't know a lot about video editing. 

What kinds of video editing software have you used?  Would you recommend doing it ourselves or outsourcing this project?

5 Replies
Nikki Stubbs

I do all of our video editing but I had a little background in it as a multimedia designer before jumping into the elearning realm. I use Final Cut Pro X now, which may be more than you need. I once shot a really nice interview video with my iPhone & edited it with iMovie and it turned out fantastic. If you're just doing basic shots, no need to spend on fancy equipment you could probably already work with what you have. Happy Shooting! 

Jerson  Campos

It all depends on what you want your final product to look like.  If you want a very professional look/audio then buying the right (not necessarily expensive) equipment will help. You can get a lot of great looking video with most handhelds these days. The thing to worry about is the audio. A good mic extension can help reduce background noise. Also invest in a tripod for steady shots. Also look around for some basic video interview tutorials for poses and lighting ideas. You can get any software you want, but if the video source is garbage, the output will be garbage.

For software, something easy and inexpensive is Premiere Elements. It can do a lot of the features more expensive software can do and it is "dumbed down" to make it very easy to use.

Nick Leffler