Rise 360 Adding a PDF document

Nov 05, 2020

Hi, I am new to this software. Rise 360 shows a demo class on Employee Health and wellness and it includes a PDF document for download. I have made my first Rise 360 course and would also like to add a PDF document for download but am not seeing the option. Does anyone know how to do this in Rise 360? Thanks!

22 Replies
Chino Navarro

Hi James, I am here to help. Have you tried inserting the PDF in an iframe and use an Embed block? This way the learners can view the PDF right inside the course.

In the sample screenshot below, I used the link to this discussion and embedded it into my Rise 360 course.

Here are the steps on how to embed a PDF document into Rise 360:

1. Upload your PDF file into an online hosting service/file server.
2. Make sure the file has the correct permissions so other people can access it.
3. Get the link to the PDF.
4. Insert the link into this Embed code:

<iframe src="Paste your link here"></iframe>

The result should look something like this:

<iframe src="https://community.articulate.com/discussions/rise-360/rise-360-adding-a-pdf-document"></iframe>

5. Insert an Embed block into your course.
6. Paste the embed code into the Embed block.

If you encounter any issues, here is an article with some troubleshooting steps.

Bruno Balanza

I do have some PDFs that explain a lot of the issues of the program, it was developed in Indesing and exported to PDF, so basically PDF should be visible as main content, embeeded.

I dont have the PDF on an external site, just on my local servers..

Embedding in Rise so far only works to download it but it takes me out of the course in a new window

Karl Muller

Hi Bruno,

There are number of factors that could determine what happens when a PDF is clicked:

• The LMS could determine the behavior.
  • The browser settings on each device can also determine what do with PDF's.