508 Compliance/Accesiblity Question about Menu

Jan 26, 2021

Hello. I'm a developer and I am trying to learn more about this 508 Compliance and Accessibility.

I do have a question: If I use the collapsible Menu, does that make my course not compliant? Do I have to choose the sidebar Menu so it is always visible for the users to make it compliant? Thank you!

14 Replies
Lauren Connelly

Hello Joyce!

Good question! You can use the collapsible Menu and still meet 508 Compliance. Screen readers will announce whether the Menu is open or closed.

Here are a few resources about designing accessible courses:

Accessibility Article Series

How to Design an Accessible Course

Storyline 360 Voluntary Product Accessibility Template®

joyce noval

Thank you for answering my question, Lauren. On another note, is there a setting that I can change so screen reader won't read the Slide title twice? During testing, JAWS screen reader upon landing on a slide reads  "Slide colon [SlideTitle] main region", and then reads "Slide colon [SlideTitle]", and then only after that it will read the actual focus order that I set. It was repetitive and there's no way to change the alternative text for the default slide title so I cannot correct wrong pronunciations like the abbreviations or special characters. I can't change the default slide title with the alternative text because we are using the built-in Menu. Please advise.

Lauren Connelly

Hello Joyce!

I'm glad that was helpful! JAWS, and any screen reader, will announce the slide title from the menu and the slide title when the entire slide is selected initially. I've found the slide title is read more on the first slide of the course than the following slides. Are you experiencing this too?

I've logged this with our team so that we can look into why JAWS announces the slide title multiple times. I'll update you in this discussion.

joyce noval

HI Lauren, thanks for looking into this.