I am tired of the bugs in this software! Costs me hours of additional work when it shouldn't!

1) Translation imports regularly exclude text so that I have to go through the word document manually. (yes I am importing from my local drive)

2) when I take my work home and work on my home computer my text boxes move around and grow. After wasting my time fixing them, they go back to the larger size and move again.

Trying to fix a quiz answer text box, I have to move it, when I resize it and then move it, it bumps back to the place it was originally and in the same size it was when I first tried to fix it.

(Your going to ask me what my OS's are on both my computers... Windows 7 and 8 but it shouldn't matter)

3) Searching for the term "text" in your search on your help forums results on nothing being returned even though someone posted something with the term text in the subject on page 2!

4) unless you work in 100% mode in a slide your text changes size when you click inside the text boxes.

5) A hotspot put on a master slide isn't recognized as a path to the next slide and when I remove the default buttons my slides go all over the place instead of linear like I made it.

6) Hyperlinks overlap to other words even when I remove them, add the text to a line under the one with hyperlink and delete into place. I had 4 hyperlinks in a row, all of them continuously changed which light box slide they were going to show, took me 20 minutes of messing around before I decided to put my new hyperlink on a different line.

7) When I have my grid options to set to snap to other objects I regularly get inconsistent results where one text box snaps properly and then in another slide snapping to the same guide lines results in a gap or the box being a pixel or two in a different position. Also sometimes the object Im trying to move doesn't actually snap into place and I have to use my arrow keys to get it into position.

8) Text input fields fail to keep text formatting unless you "lock" it.

9) Trying to use the Undo option after using the format brush results in each letter being undone one at a time instead of the whole action that was taken.

10) Sometimes the undo option actually undoes more than it should. I used right click word correct to change 3 words. I made a mistake on a format brush and used the Undo and it undid all the changes in the slide.

Oh the list goes on!

We have Studio 09 and use Storyline and both are full of bugs where I've wasted hours trying to figure out work arounds.

If a person has to work around this many bugs then your software isn't finished...

If things don't change I can promise this will be the last articulate product our company EVER buys!

Instead of trying to push out new (but buggy) products how about you spend some time and money fixing the products that people have already paid for!

1 Reply
Justin Grenier

Good Afternoon, Wesley.

I'm sorry to hear about all of the trouble you are having.  Before I attempt to respond to the details in your post, I do want to encourage you to get in touch with our Support Team any time you have a question or issue that you need help with.

You can of course feel free to use our Forums as well, but we don't want you to ever get so frustrated that you boil over with a large number of issues such as the above.  The volume of actions I'll suggest below may seem a bit more overwhelming than they might have been if we had the opportunity to assist you with each problem as it happened!

Now, to dig into the details a bit:

  1. When you translate Storyline content, are you exporting to .doc format or .xliff format?  There are some known issues with .xliff format, but if you are exporting .doc files and still having trouble, we'd encourage you to share both (a) your .story project file and (b) your .translated .doc file with us so that we can take a closer look at the problem.
  2. The most likely cause of shifting and growing objects across machines is a DPI setting other than 96, but we've seen some folks who have needed to get a bit more aggressive.  Please let us know if the problem persists after following the steps in both Knowledge Base articles.
  3. Indeed, the search functionality within the E-Learning Heroes Community is something that we know needs work, and you should expect to see a major overhaul of search in a community update that we're working at this very moment!  In the interim, I recommend checking out a nifty Google trick that our internal staff uses here at Articulate to find what we're looking for.
  4. Yep!  Because of the way text is rendered when you're editing your slides, if you work at a zoom percentage other than 100%, it's possible that the text spacing or wrapping might end up looking slightly different when you publish.  If you find that happening, we recommend changing your zoom back to 100%, adjust your slide content to look the way you want, and then republish.
  5. This isn't something I've seen before, and I'm having some trouble attempting to reproduce the problem.  Can you please send us a copy of your .story project file so that we can take a closer look at the problem?
  6. I've actually witnessed this behavior in our HTML5 output (which is a problem we're working on), but I've never seen it happen in Preview or in Publish to Flash.  The DPI setting that I referenced above is definitely worth trying, but please don't hesitate to send us your file if the problem persists.
  7. This problem is almost certainly due to your DPI settings, but if you find that this is not the case, would you mind recording a Screenr of the problematic behavior so that we can try to reproduce it?
  8. I see that you raised this behavior to our attention once previously, but that we had some trouble reproducing the behavior.  I was able to download a copy of the .story project file you shared over a year ago, and recorded a Screenr of what I see happening when I try again today.  Can you please let me know if I've misunderstood how to reproduce the problem?
  9. Without a doubt, Undo/Redo has been a problem for us over time, and if you look through our Release Notes, you'll see a line for Fixed various undo/redo issues in each of the last 4 Storyline updates.  Having said that, if you have a specific test case that can help our Engineers reproduce the problem, we definitely want to know about it!
  10. Please see #9 above.

If you have any additional issues you'd like to share, please feel free to do so either publicly (within our Forums) or privately (within a Support Case), as you see fit.

Again, I'm sorry for all the trouble.  Do let us know how the suggestions above work out, and have a great day!