Dude, you already completed this course warning

Hi,

A request that often comes up on legislated courses is:

If a user has already completed a course and tries to go back in, can we have a hard stop or warning pop-ups to advise them 'Dude, you already completed this course on <date_completed>'

Is there any way to add this check to the start of a course?

Thanks

3 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Xan,

What you could set up is a final slide that reminds the user they completed the course and set the Resume behavior to Always and this way if they try to access the course again, they'll be brought to that slide. I'd also disable the menu and the previous button on that slide so they can't jump back into a previous slide. In regards to sharing the date, that'll likely involve setting up some Javascript to read the date on their computer and store it as a variable. 

XAn Choly

Ashley Terwilliger said:

Hi Xan,

What you could set up is a final slide that reminds the user they completed the course and set the Resume behavior to Always and this way if they try to access the course again, they'll be brought to that slide. I'd also disable the menu and the previous button on that slide so they can't jump back into a previous slide. In regards to sharing the date, that'll likely involve setting up some Javascript to read the date on their computer and store it as a variable. 


Thanks very much Ashley. I'm not quite sure what you mean, so let me check...

So, the user completes the course and on the 'Congratulations, you have completed this course' final slide, I set 'When revisiting' set it to 'resume saved state' under slide properties?

If a course's starting scene is set to the intro, won't the course always start at the beginning?

How do I get a completed course that has been restarted to bounce to the final slide?

Would you have a sample .story you could share?

Thanks again.

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Xan,

Sorry, I didn't specify - I meant the Resume function for the whole course. You can set that up within your Player settings.  That way if the user access the course again, they'll only be able to start from the slide that they were last on - presuming they finish in one setting, it'll be the last slide, and if you remove the "previous" button and disable the "menu" on that individual slide, the user won't have anywhere to go.