HELP!!!

Jan 25, 2013

I downloaded two audio files (into music and narration) as .wav files. I deleted the files and converted them to mp3. I tried importing them, but now, alI see is a placeholder.  Deleted the object.  Renamed file and saved.   Started again, this time creating a slide and importing a picture from a file. Got a placeholder and no image. 

I thought I migh have a virus.  Nope.  I have 12GB of RAM and project is on 1TB hard drive.

Anybody have any ideas what happened or be happening??

15 Replies
Alan Landers

It's gotten worse.  None of the little stories I've created have any graphics.  They only have the triggers and items inserted Storyline.

I've rebooted, I've saved under a new name. I've checked the graphic files and I can import them into other programs.  It's something unique to Storyline.

I'm just learning SL and I've spent at least 50 hours since Sunday working on it.  I want to use the program I created as a demo and post it on my web.

Help!!  Please.

Christine Hendrickson

Alan,

Yes, you can reinstall the software, this won't effect your saved courses. However, if the issue is with the files themselves, this won't resolve the problem.

Are you able to post one of the .story files here, so I can take a look? If I can see the content, the file may be fine and we can work with the software.

Thanks!

Alan Landers

I thought you might like some background on how this came about...

I was working on a story since Sunday.  I was down to adding audio, transitions, and the final test, when all of my images disappeared!!

Here’s when it started.

I downloaded two WAV files: one with the intro music and the other with my intro narration.  They were uncompressed and played several times without any problems.  I started editing the intro, making several minor edits.