Published Storyline slow to load

May 07, 2013


We are using the Articulate Storyline suite to produce SCORM content for our LMS.

We have noticed that there are significant load time issues with our content. The modules that we are loading are taking up to 30 seconds to load.

Symptoms are:

Enter into learning content and a white page will appear with (with a small logo in the top left corner) this page will appear for a couple of seconds, then a blank grey screen appears for a number of seconds then the flash player will load with a rotating circle).

We have HTML 5 turned off.

One other step I have taken is to locate the JavaScript files that are commonly loaded and compress this code down so that the whitespace and comments are removed. This has failed to help also.

This is causing us issues with our inductees as they are getting impatience and refreshing which in turn causes it to start again.

Has anyone else found this? Is  there a fix in place?


Dominic P

25 Replies
Peter Anderson

Welcome to the community, Dominic!

Would you mind testing your course in SCORM Cloud to help us determine if the issue is Articulate-related or if it's on your LMS's side? If it appears in SCORM Cloud as well, we'd be happy to take a closer look at what might be going on. If you can't replicate the issue in SCORM Cloud, it's probably an issue that you'd want to take to your LMS team. 

Looking forward to hearing how that goes...


michelle eames


I tried to upload to SCORm cloud but no luck  says done but with errors on the page. and then just sticks

It is a multi sco, each section is less the 1mb but total up to 9mb.  i have auto complete set between them on Moodle but I hget a blank page for a few secounds even before the loading wheel appears.

michelle eames

Hi leslie

I need the LMS to report back at the end of each module, my manager want absolute proof they have read the internet and email parts of the induction stored in the LMS , the only way to do this was to have them as seprate mini projects that are then pacakaged up using a scorm packager tool (I use the one that came with adobe captivate)  and make use of the auto continue in Moodles Scorm Activity.  If that make sense. 

I tried up loading just the first zip to SCORM Cloud, which is less than 0.5mb and that opened quite quickly so perhaps the setting is something in Moodle.  I had less of a problem with the really large appriasals storyline that even zipped was about 30mb.

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Ros and welcome to E-Learning Heroes! We are not finding that this is the norm and this thread pointed to more of an LMS issue as did this thread that I found. I would recommend trying Peter's solution above:

Would you mind testing your course in SCORM Cloud to help us determine if the issue is Articulate-related or if it's on your LMS's side? If it appears in SCORM Cloud as well, we'd be happy to take a closer look at what might be going on. If you can't replicate the issue in SCORM Cloud, it's probably an issue that you'd want to take to your LMS team. 

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Jane!

Sorry to hear that you've experienced trouble with load time. 

This thread is a bit dated, so I wanted to get some additional information from you.

  • Do you get the same result when testing on SCORM Cloud as well?
  • What version of Storyline are you using?

If you are able to replicate on SCORM Cloud, please share your .story file so that we can take a look. If you cannot share here in the forums, please share here privately.

nur faya


Currently having same issue here. Still not solve. I'm using Articulate Stroryline 3 to produce SCORM 1.2. Size file 18mb.

Tested in and our own LMS, it works fine, no playback delay. No loading issue. Even tested on Chrome, IE11, and Firefox and there is no issue, but when our client uploaded in their LMS, they experienced quite long loading times to launch a course.They are running it on IE11. Is it has something to do with their firewall? Since they are from banking industry. This is 8th SCORM we develop for this specific client, only this current SCORM (developed using Articulate 3) behave differently from the previous SCORM  (developed using Articulate 2 then upgrade to Articulate 3). 

Tried to delete cache from browser but does not work. Tried import to new project story file also does not work. 


Leslie McKerchie

Hi Nur,

Thanks for reaching out and letting us know what your client is experiencing in their LMS.

You mention that you are unable to recreate the issue in both SCORM Cloud and your LMS and that the issue is only happening in the clients LMS.

Since you mention that you are concerned with a Firewall as well, are they able to share a link for you to test? Do you experience the same delay? Do they have the same delay when accessing your test link?

This should help you identify if the issues are within their LMS or due to the Firewall.

nur faya

Thank you for your feedback. 

Our client insist that the problem comes from our SCORM, since their previous SCORM works perfectly fine from their LMS.

They tested in laptop with wifi connected and works fine and also their LMS provider did the testing using user account also works fine. Only the problem when they open the course via their PC and connected with LAN. But, our client seem did not convince that the problem is from internet connection since previous SCORM looks fine. 

Now, i'm sending SCORM cloud invitation link for them to test. Uploaded 2 SCORM (1. delay playback issue 2. No delay playback issue) and requested user access of their LMS for us to do testing. 

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Nur,

I'd think that the comparison of how it worked on the Wifi vs. the LAN connection would be enough for the client to see that the course is working well on its own. You could see if any additional data is being captured in LMS debug mode, as that may point you towards the culprit. If you need help deciphering that, reach out to our Support Team and they're happy to help! 

Jo Lamontagne

Hi Nur, I'm experiencing similar problems with a couple of my courses. 


The courses are fine, 97% of users are completing with no issue, but we still have a third of the population attempt to open html5 content on incompatible IE browsers. We also have a legacy proxy platform experiencing Web browsing degradation... Our tech support found that manually relaunching the proxy each day reduced this but after replacing the legacy proxy with testing still to be determined and deadlines looming we have found this has impacted 3% of interactions. 


Might this be the issue with your client's set up?



Marc Letellier

We too have a growing problem with the slow launching of our Html5 courses that are are not even Scorm.


If we copy the course URL directly onto the Chrome Address bar, we face the same slow launch of up to 30 seconds.  Been growing issue for last 6 months

Does not look good for Articulate

We do not have the same problems with another Authoring tool that we are using 


Vincent Scoma

Hi Marc,

Thank you for letting us know!

While this is an older thread, I wanted to start fresh so we can get to the bottom of this. A couple of questions for you:

  • Is the course uploaded to an LMS or is this local playback of the course?
  • Do you get the same result when testing on SCORM Cloud as well?

If you can share your file with us, we are more than happy to take a closer look! You can share files in this thread or you’re always welcome to share them privately here. We'll let you know our findings and will delete it after having a closer look!

Simon Tietschel

The same Problem on my Side. When using SCORM 1.2 behind some proxies/firewalls the modules are loading really slow. i examined the behaviour and allways get an ERR_CONNECTION_RESET in the js files.

Is there some kind of Cross Origin Stuff, that the SCORM Modules are loading, and that is filtered by some firewalls. Or is there some known issue with the modules behind a proxy?


i am quite frustraded, since my customers are very upset.

Lauren Connelly

Hello Simon!

If you've already tried the troubleshooting steps, my teammate, Vincent, listed then we'll want our Support Engineers to step in! 

We'll want to test the affected to file to gather more information and determine a fix. Please use this private upload link to share your file with our Support team. We'll let you know once we receive the file and report back with our findings!

Shiv Naresh


I am also facing the same issues, "Course seems to take time to load up as you go from page to page”. This issue is coming for the latest Storyline version output when checked on Edge. For me the course is running relevantly faster compare to client. Our client is asking to fix this issue. Can anyone help me on this?

Lauren Connelly

Hi Shiv!

I'm happy to help! Are you only seeing the slow loading issue in Edge? If so, have you tried using a different browser?

We'd be happy to take a look and your project on our end. Here's a secure upload link. We'll receive a notification when you share the file. After reviewing, we'll reply with our findings. Don't worry. We always delete files after troubleshooting!

Shiv Naresh

Hi Lauren,

Thanks for your response. I have checked in Edge and Chrome and the loading issue is coming in both browsers. Actually the course runs better in Edge than Chrome. Also, is see more lag/delay while running through the course for the first time and for the page where graphic and animation are there. On revisit the page loaded little fast.

For sharing the source file I need to take approval from my client. Will share after getting the approval.

Lauren Connelly

Hello Adeela!

We're happy to help! Are you finding this behavior occurs with all of your Storyline 360 courses in your LMS? Have you tried using a different browser to see if the loading time is different across browsers?

Once we gather more details, we'll be happy to offer a specific solution! You can also share your project with us privately in a support case to test it on our end.