16 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Cheryl,

You'd see that message if you had been editing/opened that Rise lesson in another browser window or session. If you're the only one with access to that Rise course, (i.e. you haven't shared your Articulate  ID with anyone or used the Collaborator feature to share the course) it's safe to click "Take Control" and continue editing. 

You'll also want to keep in mind these are the supported browsers for Rise. 

Cheryl Hoover

I ran into something similar this morning with Storyline 360. I hit Ctrl S to save and got a message that the file was open by another user; do you want to save a copy. So I used Save As. The just now I got prompted saying the file was open, did I want to overwrite or make a copy. I chose overwrite. I tried to replicate it but Ctrl S worked after that.

Sean Matthew Leary

Hi Alyssa, 

I'm running into this but it locks up when I attempt to take over control. I've attempted to duplicate the block, the issue moves with it within the course. So I attempted to copy the block to another course, same thing occurs. The rest of the course is fine, do I have to delete and remake that section? That would be a huge hassle!

Alyssa Gomez

Hi there, Sean -- Are you the only one with access to this Rise course, or have you shared it with other authors? Does the course seem to lock up on one particular lesson? 

If so, open a case here, and let us know the name of the course and the name of the lesson that's giving you trouble. We'll help you dig into it! 

Hey, Cheryl -- did you run into the "Take Control" message again today? If so, what were you doing just before you saw that message? 

Bree Baich

Hello I receive the Take Control message repeatedly. I'm using the latest version of Edge (tried Chrome, same thing). I'll be editing a lesson, jump to a different one and the message appears. It's also acting wonky when I try and do inline editing. It won't save the changes, it reverts back to the previous version.