Why is there a play icon in my opening video for my module when publishing for Review?

Hi

We are currently building a programme that consists of 5 modules and are busy with the 4th module. Each module starts with a MP4 video playing automatically. For the latest one when we publish for Review the video is not starting automatically and in fact there is a greyscreen with a play icon which you need to click on to start the module. 

We have tried publishing for all formats but it persists in all of them. What has changed? This is the first time we are having this issue? 

All the research i have done has pointed to this issue occuring when publishing for web but we are publishing for Review. 

We have had this occur for one or two people in our last module when running through our LMS, however we thought it was a browser issue. Now we are wondering if it has something to do with the player itself. 

Thanks

Leanne

13 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Leanne,

What browser(s) are you viewing it in? Also, are you using the latest update of Storyline 360, Update 3.15.15581.0  which was released the end of April 2018? 

We've seen a few browsers such as Safari and Chrome begin blocking the autoplay of media elements, but if you're using the latest update of Articulate 360 we've also implemented additional support for these latest browser versions to support that setup. 

If you want to share the Review link here with me, I can also test that and confirm the behavior. 

Robert Brugger

Hello Ashley,

I am getting the same behavior in Chrome (Version 66.0.3359.139 (Official Build) (64-bit)) .  The course does not auto-play and I get a rather "unsightly" play icon that needs to be clicked to start the course. 

I checked, and the course launches fine in IE... 

What is strange, is that courses I previously published to Review (dated 4/26/2018 or earlier) work just fine, which indicates a very recent change that is causing this behavior.

Leanne Falconer

Hi

We are currently deploying a programme that consists of 5 modules and that is how we picked it up. The first 2 worked perfectly. Then for module 3 a small percentage of the learners were getting the issue when we went live and now for module 4 we are getting the issue from when publishing for Review. 

Leanne

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Leanne, 

Absolutely - do you want to share those links and examples by uploading it to me here?

I'll take a look once I get both of those. 

It's also worth noting that with Chrome's recent update to prevent autoplay of media without the users say so, the latest update of Storyline 3 and 360 implemented this play button feature. You can read a bit more about it here. 

Leanne Falconer

Hi Ashley

I logged a support call yesterday as it was quite urgent for this to be resolved. The links were in that call - Case #01366630.

 

Anna Guanco has responded the the following:

 

Hi Leanne,

Thanks for contacting Articulate Support!

I understand that you created a programme consisting of 5 modules in Storyline where each module starts with a video (MP4) playing automatically. You noticed, however, on the last module that you published to Articulate Review that the video does not play automatically. The issue is happening for projects created on Storyline 360 update 13 (3.13.15006.0) and update 15 (3.15.15581.0).

I have replicated the issue from my end and logged it as a possible software bug.

As a workaround, you can move the video / MP4 on the 2nd or succeeding slides (if possible).

From here, I’ll meet with my team to take a closer look so we can determine next steps. Sometimes my team catches errors in my logic and we don’t have a bug after all. Of course, if that’s the case, I’ll let you know!

Depending on priority and risk, some bugs can be fixed quickly, while others take longer to resolve. Here's more information on how we identify and tackle bugs: https://articulate.com/support/article/How-We-Tackle-Bugs

I’ll let you know as soon as we have an update on this issue. Thanks again for letting us know about this, and I’m sorry if it’s slowing you down.


Anna Guanco

Michael Jones

Hey everyone,

If you're interested in disabling the new autoplay feature in Chrome, this article will help to change the default setting.

https://9to5google.com/2018/02/15/how-to-disable-autoplay-videos-chrome/

You'll want to change the Autoplay-policy flag to be "no user gesture required."

When this happened with Safari a few months ago, we instructed folks to adjust the default setting, whenever possible. I realize that isn't possible in a lot of organizations, but it's worth a shot!

Leanne Falconer

Hi Ashley.

Just out of interest if the autoplay issue is from a change Chrome pushed why are we not experiencing the same issue on older modules? As i mentioned we started experiencing this issue on Modules 3 and 4 of a programme we have created. But we are not having any issues for Module 1 and 2 and they all start with a video and we are not having any issues in these modules.

If it is just a browser change surely all of the modules would be impacted?

Leanne

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Leanne,

I took a look at your links again, and tested them in Chrome 66 normal browsing mode and incognito. 

I saw some differences between both links and the first link behaved differently from normal to incognito, but in your Support case you mentioned they both demonstrated the behavior, so I wanted to confirm since now it sounds like only your recent courses are showing this? 

I am sharing both of these links with our Review team, as we've seen some inconsistencies in Review. Have you tested uploading either of these outside of Review? I'd be curious to know how they played back if uploaded to a site such as Tempshare. What I'd expect is your first link may not play at all, the second one would play while showing the play button. 

Leanne Falconer

HI Ashley

Thanks. I will test on SCORM cloud and let you know.  We had the autoplay issue on both but they were developed in different versions. One is built on a version with 3.13.15006.0 and the other on 3.15.15581.0. 

However my question above was referring to the other 3 modules that have already been developed as part of our Information Security programme, which are currently running. We have had multiple people complete these modules in the last few weeks and to date the only module that has given us one or two issues was Module 3, and even there is it only for a minimal number of people. 

If the issue is being caused by a Chrome change and all three were developed and deployed before the end of April which is when you say you put in  the update to help with the Chrome issue, why are they not experiencing the same autoplay issue?

Thx

Leanne

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Leanne, 

If individuals are on different versions of Chrome, that could explain a different experience. Also, the way Chrome is judging whether or not to autoplay media is based on each individual's Media Engagement Index (MEI) and that will vary from person to person as well. 

So for courses that were published prior to our April update, do you know what version of Chrome these users are accessing it in?